2013 Florida Press Association/Florida Society of News Editors Annual Convention

Webcast archives from the 2013 Florida Press Association / Florida Society of Newspaper Editors annual convention held July 18-19 in Orlando.

FPA Better Weekly Newspaper Awards Luncheon

Keynote Speaker: Leonard Pitts, Columnist, Miami Herald

Paywalls and Digital Subscriptions: What’s Working

Moderator: Doug Ray, Executive Editor, Gainesville Sun
Panelists: Maribel Perez Wadsworth, VP Audience Development, Gannett; Bert Ortiz, VP/Circulation Director, Orlando Sentinel; Steve Buttry, Digital Transformation Editor, Digital First Media; Sandi Kemp, Publisher, Navarre Press

Story Telling Across Platforms

Mario Garcia, Jr., President, Garcia Interactive

News Track: Trayvon Martin/George Zimmerman Case: Lessons Learned

Moderator: Eric Deggans, TV/Media Critic, Tampa Bay Times
Panelists: Michelle Guido, Breaking News Editor, Orlando Sentinel; Norton Bonaparte, Sanford City Manager; Allie Braswell, President & CEO, Central Florida Urban League; Francis C. Oliver, Curator, Goldsboro Historical Museum and mother of Martin family attorney Natalie Jackson

Hall of Fame Presentation

Monetizing the Mobile Audience

Travis Knight, Director of Digital Advertising, TBO

Good Journalism is Good Business

Panel: Frank Denton, Editor, Florida Times-Union; Esther Thorson, Professor, University of Missouri College of Journalism; Paul Tash, Chairman and CEO, Tampa Bay Times.

News Track: The Power of Watchdog Reporting

Moderator: Trevor Aaronson, Associate Director, Florida Center for Investigative Reporting
Panelists: Terry Spencer, Florida News Editor, The Associated Press; Melissa Sanchez, Investigative Reporter, El Nuevo Herald; Topher Sanders, City Government Reporter, Florida Times-Union.